Skip to content

Incumbents all return in SD46, Ann Skelcher also elected

Ann Skelcher will be the lone new face at the school board table
Who will sit on the Sunshine Coast's t

10:08 p.m.

There will only be one newcomer to the School Board table after this election – but she's a familiar face at the school district. Ann Skelcher, former principal of Langdale,  Roberts Creek, Kinnikinnick, Halfmoon Bay Elementary Schools and former vice-principal of Chatelech Secondary School, in Area 2 (central) is the lone newcomer elected, with 1,961 votes – the most of any candidate. Also in Area 2, a close second was Amanda Amaral with 1,815 votes. Also elected was Maria Hampvent, who received 1,257 votes. 

In the Lower Coast (Area 3) Sue Girard received 1,214 votes, Pammila Ruth received 1,067 votes and Stacia Leech received 1,050 votes.

Not elected were Briar Hartwell in Area 3, with 664 votes, and Ric Leskie in Area 2 with 1,090 votes. 

9:28 p.m.

The results are in for one of the two school board trustee areas in the election race: the Lower Coast will see all of its incumbents return. 

Sue Girard, Pammila Ruth and Stacia Leech are set to join the next SD46 school board.

Update 8:50 p.m.

Still no results. We'll keep you updated. 

Update 8 p.m.

Polls are now closed! Keep an eye on this page, as we'll bring you the results shortly. 

Who is running? 

Click a name to be taken to the candidate's profile. 

Incumbent trustee Samantha Haines, who represents Area 1 (the Upper Coast), was acclaimed. Area 1 includes Pender Harbour, Halfmoon Bay, as well as Sechelt Indian Band Lands 6, 6A, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 12A, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 19A, 20, 20A, 21, 21A, 22, 24, 25, 26 and 27. With Haines’s win, SCRD Area A (Pender Harbour and Egmont) won’t see an election at all, as incumbent director Leonard Lee has also been acclaimed. 

Running to represent Area 2 are: incumbent chair Amanda Amaral, Ann Skelcher, Ric Leskie and incumbent Maria Hampvent. Their names will appear on the District of Sechelt ballots. Area 2 also represents Sechelt Indian Band Lands 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 28.

Running to represent Area 3 are: three incumbents Pammila Ruth, Stacia Leech and Sue Girard, and newcomer Briar Teal Hartwell. These four names will be on the ballot for Town of Gibsons voters. Area 3 also represents SCRD areas D (Roberts Creek), E (Elphinstone) and F (West Howe Sound). So even though those three SCRD electoral areas saw their directors acclaimed, their constituents can still vote for the school board.

Where can you vote? 

In Sechelt (for Area 2): Davis Bay Elementary, 5078 Davis Bay Road; Sechelt Seniors Activity Centre, 5604 Trail Avenue; West Sechelt Elementary, 5609 Mason Road. From 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Oct. 15. 

In Gibsons (for Area 3): At Gibsons & Area Community Centre, 700 Park Road. From 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Oct. 15. 

In Roberts Creek (for Area 3): At Roberts Creek Community Hall, 1309 Roberts Creek Road. From 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Oct. 15. 

In Elphinstone (for Area 3): At Frank West Hall, 1224 Chaster Road, Gibsons. From 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Oct. 15. 

In West Howe Sound (for Area 3): At Eric Cardinall Hall, 930 Chamberlin Road, Gibsons. From 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Oct. 15. 


Find details about who is eligible, how to register, what kinds of ID you'll need and more on the SCRD website, Sechelt website, or Gibsons website.

Where do candidates stand on the issues? 

The SD46 District Parents Advisory Council held an all candidates forum this election period. The event is available to watch on YouTube

We've also got profiles of all of the candidates available on our SD46 election page