Pickleballers shine at the Arena Bowl

Last Sunday marked the sixth annual Arena Bowl Pickleball Challenge at Gibsons Community Centre.

The Sunshine Coast Pickleball Association’s tournament once again featured the talents of several of its 200+ members. When the whiffle-type pickleballs finally fell silent, gold and silver medals were awarded to 14 doubles teams in seven skill-based events. 

article continues below

Arena Bowl Winners: 3.0 Women: Carmen Brown & Pam Iwaskiuk (Gold), Sharon St. Laurent & Diane Hatch (Silver), 3.0 Men: Mark Slater & Al Bowman (Gold), Steve Forgacs & Brian Chipman (Silver). 3.5 Men: Rick Kenward & Russ Drake (Gold), Aare Kuusk & Ross Miller (Silver). 4.0 Men: Kirk Exner & Pete Grassmann (Gold), Par Noren and Neil Hendren (Silver). 3.0 Mixed: Lynn Smith & Brad Ivens (Gold), Lynnette Robinson & Andy Green (Silver). 3.5 Mixed: Tom Pinfold & Nely Sepy (Gold), Carol Brophy & Tim Dayton (Silver). 4.0 Mixed: Kirk Exner & Lin Buckler (Gold), Ceilo Lyle-Shortt & Par Noren (Silver). 

More events such as fun skills competitions, family days, youth pickleball, and a float for Canada Day are planned for the summer months by the Sunshine Coast’s thriving pickleball community.

– Submitted by John R. Bell

© Copyright Coast Reporter


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Coast Reporter welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus


Will John Horgan and the B.C. NDP win the majority they are seeking on Oct. 24?

or  view results