Skip to content

UPDATE: Powell River-Sunshine Coast MLA loses minister position

Nicholas Simons replaced as minister of social development and poverty reduction
Powell River-Sunshine Coast MLA has been replaced as provincial minister of social development and poverty reduction by new BC premier David Eby.

Powell River-Sunshine Coast MLA Nicholas Simons has been named caucus chair for the NDP provincial government led by premier David Eby. He lost his ministerial post when the new premier named his new cabinet on December 7.

“I’m looking forward to taking on this important new role and pulling the entire team together so we can all continue our work, taking on the issues that are important to people,” stated Simons in a media release from the BC government caucus.

Simons was appointed BC’s minister of social development and poverty reduction by former premier John Horgan after the 2020 general election. In addition to his responsibilities as minister, Simons was vice-chair of the cabinet committee on social initiatives.

He has been replaced in the ministry by Sheila Malcolmson, who was previously minister for mental health and addictions. She represents the constituency of Nanaimo.

The Peak has reached out to Simons for comment.

Simons was first elected MLA for Powell River-Sunshine Coast in 2005 and was re-elected in 2009, 2013, 2017 and 2020.

The new cabinet is as follows:

Premier: David Eby

Agriculture and Food: Pam Alexis

Attorney General: Niki Sharma

Children and Family Development: Mitzi Dean

Citizens’ Services: Lisa Beare

Education and Child Care: Rachna Singh

Minister of State for Child Care: Grace Lore

Emergency Management and Climate Readiness: Bowinn Ma

Energy, Mines and Low Carbon Innovation: Josie Osborne

Environment and Climate Change Strategy: George Heyman

Finance (includes Columbia River Treaty): Katrine Conroy

Forests, and Minister Responsible for Consular Corps: Bruce Ralston

Health, and Minister Responsible for Francophone Affairs: Adrian Dix

Housing, and Government House Leader: Ravi Kahlon

Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation: Murray Rankin

Jobs, Economic Development and Innovation: Brenda Bailey

Minister of State for Trade: Jagrup Brar

Labour: Harry Bains

Mental Health and Addictions: Jennifer Whiteside

Municipal Affairs: Anne Kang

Post-Secondary Education and Future Skills (includes immigration/foreign credentials): Selina Robinson

Minister of State for Workforce Development: Andrew Mercier

Public Safety and Solicitor General (ICBC), and Deputy Premier: Mike Farnworth

Social Development and Poverty Reduction: Sheila Malcolmson

Tourism, Arts, Culture and Sport: Lana Popham

Transportation and Infrastructure (BC Transit and Translink): Rob Fleming

Minister of State for Infrastructure and Transit: Dan Coulter

Water, Land and Resource Stewardship (Fisheries): Nathan Cullen