Brewing Evil series finds international success for Coast author


Submitted / Coast Reporter
September 4, 2014 11:21 AM

Coast author Carol Gardarsson.

It’s here at last — the long-awaited conclusion of the Brewing Evil series.

Coast author Carol Gardarsson has brought together all the main characters from her five-book historical fiction series set on the Canadian prairies in this explosive finale, which includes a plot twist no one could predict.

In this final book, Eliza is free of the stigma of witchcraft imposed on her all of her life by Steve Fiddler, who is now dead. She marries the man she loves and is happily reunited with her birth father, ending his 17-year search for her. All around her, friends are pairing up and marrying; Eliza’s life has become blissfully mundane.

Unknown to her, someone is still plotting against her, someone who will stop at nothing to discredit her throughout the whole community, including in the eyes of her husband, Sam. After Eliza gives birth to her baby, a nightmare of epic proportions explodes, plummeting her into a twisted and evil plot that has been brewing for years. In this horrifying finale, Eliza’s child vanishes from its bed — but what’s even more shocking is that even Sam believes that Eliza is responsible for the disappearance of their baby.

Brewing Evil: Witch Water is available at Talewinds Books, in Sechelt, along with the first four books in the series.

Gardarsson has been hailed as “…a born storyteller …” whose special insights into the actual story behind the Brewing Evil series lends realism to the both the plot and the characters in this epic compelling series.

A 30-year career in newspapers has honed her research and reporting skills, evident in the historical authenticity of these books. Her first book in the series, A Witch is Born, is being published in Reykjavik, translated into Icelandic, through Salka Publishing. It will be released late this fall, in time for Christmas. Gardarsson is also thrilled that the Manitoba Text Book Bureau is considering the Brewing Evil series for the 2015 recommended reading list for Manitoba secondary schools.

Gardarsson’s next project, set for release in 2015, is a contemporary Canadian rural disaster story entitled Harvest of Fire. This story is filled with on-the-edge-of-your-seat excitement and a great cast of characters that even includes a few bizarre heroes. A rural fire chief once commented of Harvest of Fire, “This scenario scares the hell out of every rural fire chief — because it could happen anywhere, anytime.”

© Copyright 2015 Coast Reporter


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Coast Reporter welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus

Email to a Friend



Should BC Ferries be returned to a Crown corporation?

or  view results

click here to read the editorial

Popular Local A & E